Institution’s Innovation Council (IIC)

Ministry of Education (MoE), Govt. of India has established ‘MoE’Innovation Cell(MIC) to systematically foster the culture of Innovation amongst all Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). The primary mandate of MIC is to encourage, inspire and nurture young students by supporting them to work with new ideas and transform them into prototypes while they are informative years. MIC has envisioned encouraging creation of ‘Institution’s Innovation Council’(IIC) across selected HEIs. A network of these IICs will be established to promote innovation in the institution through multitudinous modes leading to an innovation promotion eco-system in the campuses.

Roles of Institution’s Innovation Council (IIC) Established in HEIs

Institution’s Innovation Council (IIC) established in Higher Educational Institutions (HEIs) will pay an instrumental role in the whole process innovation repository creation at each institute level by identifying, scouting ideas, innovations and start-ups from students, alumni / recent graduates, faculty members, staff, entrepreneurs incubated at the institute. Moreover, IIC institutions will keep scouting innovations and start-up throughout the year for building the repository, verification of received submission on regular basis and taking needful actions to provide hand holding supports such as mentoring, grant assistance, nominate for national innovation challenges, referral &Linkage with incubation units, accelerators and connect with Angel / Venture Capital(VC) networks, facilitating technology transfer etc., towards sustainable generation and production of innovations and start-ups from HEIs.


To achieve recognition as an institution of excellence in the innovation ecosystem, Technology Transfer and establishing the culture of entrepreneurship in the campus.


  • To create an ecosystem of innovative ideas
  • To support the students in making young entrepreneurs
  • To provide a wide range of start-up opportunities in our campus

Functions of IIC

  • To conduct various innovation and entrepreneurship activities prescribed by Central MIC in time bond fashion.
  • Identify and reward innovations and share success stories.
  • Organize periodic workshops / seminars / interactions with entrepreneurs, investors, professionals and create a mentor pool for student innovators.
  • Network with peers and national entrepreneurship development organizations.
  • Create an Institution’s Innovation Portal to highlight innovative projects carried out by Institution’s faculty and students.
  • Organize Hackathons, idea competition, mini-challenges etc., with the involvement of industries.
  • Supporting technology transfer and Facilitates staff and students toundertake Project/ Product based learning
Institution Innovation Council Coordinators:
S. NoName of MemberMember Type
(Teaching/Nonteaching/Student/External Expert)
Key Role / Position
Assigned in IIC
1Dr. P. MathiyalaganPrincipalPresident
2Dr. T. MohandasTeachingVice President
3Mr. S. P. SureshrajTeachingConvener
4Dr. S. SumithraTeachingARIIA Coordinator
5Dr. M. P. RevathiTeachingNISP Coordinator
6Dr. P. ChellammalTeachingNIRF Coordinator
7Dr. S. KanchanaTeachingStart-up Activity Coordinator
8Dr. T. NallusamyTeachingInternship Activity Coordinator
9Dr. N. L. VenkataramanTeachingIPR Coordinator
10Mr. S. NarayanasamyTeachingInnovation Activity
11Mr. S. SureshkumarTeachingSocial Media Coordinator
12Mr. J. SaravananExternal ExpertExternal/Incubation Manager
13Dr. S. SarulathaTeachingMember
14Dr. R. RaguTeachingMember
15Mr. M. VadivelTeachingMember
16Mr. J. Joshwa KirubanNon-TeachingMember
17Mr. S. Arun Praveen RajStudentStart-up Activity Coordinator
18Ms. N. A. YogarasiStudentIPR Activity Coordinator
19Mr. M. DheneshwaranStudentInnovation Activity
20Mr. T. Ajay KumarStudentInternship Activity Coordinator
21Mr. P. KishoreStudentSocial Media Coordinator
22Mr. N. NishanthStudentMember
23Mr. R. SethupathiStudentMember
24Mr. R. EbinesanStudentMember
25Mr. S. KameshStudentMember
26Mr. S. MadeshStudentMember
27Ms. D. JenitaStudentMember
28Mr. A. KasthuriStudentMember
29Mr. M. SrimathiStudentMember
30Ms. T. ThilagavathiStudentMember
31Mr. S. Mohamed ThoufeeqStudentMember
32Mr. S. Melvin RichardStudentMember
33Mr. P.B. Monish KumarStudentMember
34Mr. C. AyyannarStudentMember
35Mr. G. Griri RajStudentMember
36Mr. K. DeepakStudentMember
37Ms. D. HariniStudentMember
38Mr. AnanthakrishnanStudentMember
39Ms. RohiniStudentMember
40Mr. T. Krithick RajStudentMember